Prof. Dr. Oya Atalay Franck is an architect, architectural historian, and educator. She is the president of EAAE/AEEA since 2017 and a professor of architecture, the Dean and managing director of the School of Architecture, Design and Civil Engineering at ZHAW Zurich University of Applied Sciences in Winterthur in Switzerland. Her teaching covers the theory and history of architecture, urbanism as well as design studio (a.o. at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Troy NY, ETH Zurich). Her current research focuses on design research methods/research by design, interface education/research/practice, as well as higher education politics. Her recent publications address research methodologies and design doctorate programmes. She acts as an expert in various scientific organizations, a.o. the Swiss National Foundation of Research (SNF), the Research Foundation Flanders (FWO), the Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia (FCT) as well as in peer review committees, quality audits, professional project competitions.


For more information:





+41 58 934 7650

+41 58 935 7650

ZHAW: Architektur, Gestaltung und Bauingenieurwesen

Tössfeldstrasse 11
CH-8401 Winterthur, CH

Latest message

January 30, 2024

Newsletter January 2024

In memoriam It is with deep sadness that we inform you that Prof. Emil Barbu Popescu passed away on January 9th. He was one of the most active members of EAAE, to whose activities he contributed significantly. He was the author of numerous professional projects and realisations and a leading promoter of multiple national and international initiatives to enhance architectural culture and education. The EAAE President, Oya Atalay Franck, Vice-President, Ilaria Valente and the council members express their condolences to…

Archive of messages

Newsletter December 2023
December 23, 2023
Newsletter November 2023
November 25, 2023
Newsletter October 2023
November 13, 2023
Newsletter September 2023
October 23, 2023
Newsletter July 2023
August 02, 2023
Newsletter May 2023
June 13, 2023
March Newsletter
March 17, 2023
Solidarity Statement
February 28, 2023
Thank you ETSAM!
September 19, 2022
January 28, 2022
December 21, 2021
EAAE Newsletter September 2021
September 28, 2021
The Oslo Pledge
May 19, 2021
The first EAAE Deans Summit
February 15, 2021
Remote Teaching
January 22, 2021
Looking Back… and Ahead
December 18, 2020
Work in Progress
November 25, 2020
“A New European Bauhaus”
October 24, 2020
Follow-up General Assembly 2020
September 22, 2020
General Assembly 2020
July 24, 2020
Connect, reconnect
May 19, 2020
Tempestuous Times
April 06, 2020
Deans Summit in Oslo
January 22, 2020
Season’s Greetings!
December 19, 2019
Thank you, Zagreb!
August 05, 2019
Newsletter July
July 22, 2019
June 24, 2019
Zagreb 2019
April 19, 2019
Register now!
March 21, 2019
Newsletter January
January 24, 2019
Newsletter December
December 11, 2018
Thank you
September 14, 2018
Join us in Porto!
June 27, 2018
New Year’s Message
December 21, 2017
Budget 2018
October 26, 2017
A Message of the New President
September 04, 2017
In memoriam: Johan Verbeke
August 12, 2017
EAAE communication
July 19, 2017
Bordeaux Invitation
May 01, 2017
Time for Celebration?
August 21, 2015
Notes from the President
March 01, 2015
Happy New Year
December 31, 2014
Notes from the President
December 30, 2013

Former EAAE Presidents

Karl Otto Ellefsen
The Oslo School of Architecture and Design,
Oslo, NO
Urs Hirschberg
Technische Universität Graz,
Graz, AT
Stefano Musso
Università degli Studi di Genova,
Genova, IT
Francis Nordemann
ENSA de Paris-Belleville,
Paris, FR
Per Olaf Fjeld
The Oslo School of Architecture and Design,
Oslo, NO
James Horan
Dublin School of Architecture,
Dublin, IE
Herman Neuckermans
KU Leuven,
Leuven, BE
Constantin Spiridonidis
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki,
Thessaloniki, GR
Pierre von Meiss (†)
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne,
Lausanne, CH
Hentie Louw
Newcastle University,
Newcastle, GB
Jean-François Mabardi
Université catholique de Louvain,
Louvain-la-Neuve, BE
Nils Ole Lund (†)
Aarhus School of Architecture,
Aarhus, DK
Peter Jockusch
Universität Stuttgart,
Stuttgart, DE
Age Van Randen
Delft University of Technology,
Delft, NL
Herbert Kramel
ETH Zurich,
Zurich, CH
Hans Haenlein
Polytechnic of the South Bank,
London, GB