Presidents Message, March 21, 2019

Register now!

Dear Colleagues,

We are excited to inform you that Mohsen Mostafavi, Will Hunter, Lesley Lokko, Maruša Zorec, and An Fonteyne will be among our keynote speakers at the EAAE Annual Conference at the Faculty of Architecture, University of Zagreb. The deadline of the call for contributions has been extended to 19 April 2019. Please encourage your colleagues and students to submit a paper! Preceding the Annual Conference, a self-initiated student workshop will take place from 25–28 August. Please share the information with your students.

We are happy to announce that VELUX will again be the main sponsor of our Annual Conference. Every second year since 2004, the VELUX Group has invited students of architecture and their teachers to participate in the International VELUX Award for Students of Architecture, to explore the role of daylight in architecture and inspire new thinking. Since the first award, some 5,000 students from more than 80 countries have submitted more than 4,000 projects on the award theme “Light of Tomorrow”.

The first joint ACSA/EAAE Conference “The Teaching of Practice, the Practice of Teaching: the Teacher’s Hunch” apparently takes a lot of interest. More than 230 abstracts for papers and posters have been submitted, coming from 153 different institutions in Europe, America, Australia, Latin America, Asia and Africa! We are delighted, that the opening lecture will be given by Richard Blythe on 27 June evening, and the keynote lecture by Jonathan Sergison on 29 June. Don’t forget to register!

We are looking forward to meeting you in Antwerp from 27–30 June 2019 and in Zagreb from 28–31 August 2019!

Kind regards,
Oya Atalay Franck
President EAAE

Archive of messages