EVENT by: EAAE. Published: December 16, 2022.

ACE/EAAE Conference & Third EAAE Deans’ Summit

ACE/EAAE Joint Public Conference
‘NEB: Upskilling x (Education + Practice)’
20.04.2023, ULB Faculty of Architecture La Cambre Horta, 19 Place Eugène Flagey, 1050 Brussels
Go to the conference website

The video recording of the conference is now available on the ACE YouTube channel.

Conference Statement: Upskilling to deliver high-quality architecture for a beautiful, sustainable and inclusive environment.
Download the ACE-EAAE Statement published on the occasion of the conference.

The first workshop on Education and Professional Practice in Europe started in June 2022.
This had a follow-up in the EAAE Annual Conference in Madrid with a broader participation from UIA, ACE, ACSA, ENACA, FMVDR and EAAE.
The ACE and EAAE have decided to seize the opportunity of the 2023 European Year of Skills to organise a conference that will aim to promote a mindset of reskilling and upskilling among the profession and explore innovative training and upskilling strategies. This hybrid conference will take place on Thursday 20 April at the Faculté d’Architecture La Cambre Horta, Brussels.
The architectural profession plays a key role in achieving a high-quality built environment. It is of utmost importance to empower architects to face the challenges of our time and equip them with the necessary skills to contribute to the green and digital transitions, as well as innovation and competitiveness in the construction and buildings sectors.

With the support of the Creative Europe programme and ULB La Cambre Horta.

Sponsored by


Third EAAE Deans’ Summit
‘Impact of care, caring for students, for society, for the profession’

21.04.2023, Paleizenstraat 70, 1030 Brussels

Check out our photo gallery  and the presentations!

How can architects take up a role when things become difficult? In times of political uncertainty, inhabiting a fragile earth.

How do we train architectural students to cope with complex environments? How do our curricula and further activities ensure that their social engagement and caring attitude becomes truly impactful?
How do we uncover necessary ‘soft’ skills in our curricula? And how does this relate to other goals of the educational agenda?
In this 3rd Dean’s Summit, we’ll talk about impact-full communication tools, persuasive propositions, convincing presentations, action-based studio’s and necessary caring competences.
The Dean’s Summit is in this perspective a follow up on the theme of the ACE-EAAE Conference.

Please check the programme here!

List of attendees registered for the Deans’ Summit:

Name EAAE Member School
Agata Gawlak Poznan University of Technology
Alda Alagic Fontys Master of Architecture and Urbanism
Andrea Campioli School of Architecture Urban Planning Construction Engineering
Arda Inceoglu MEF University, Faculty of Arts Design and Architecture
Barbara Świt-Jankowska Faculty of Architecture, Poznan Uniwersity of Technology
Bojan Baletic Faculty of Architecture University of Zagreb
Carmen Mendoza-Arroyo School of Architecture. Universitat Internacional de Catalunya (UIC Barcelona)
Cristian Blidariu Faculty of Architecture and Urban Planning in Timisoara, Romania
Dalibor Hlaváček Faculty of Architecture, Czech Technical University in Prague
Donát Rétfalvi Dr University of Pécs, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology
Emma Nilsson Bergen School of Architecture
Fabrizio I. Apollonio Department of Architecture
Ilaria Valente Politecnico di Milano
Ingrid Westendorp Fontys University of applied sciences
Ivan Cabrera i Fausto Escola Tècnica Superior d’Arquitectura | Universitat Politècnica de València
Joanna Jabłońska Faculty of Architecture Wroclaw University of Science and Technology
João Pedro Xavier Faculty of Architecture at the University of Porto
Jörg Schröder Leibniz University Hannover, Faculty of Architecture and Landscape
Judith Reeh Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), KIT-Fakultät für Architektur
Kashchenko Oleksandr Kyiv National University of Construction and Architecture
Kevin McCartney Cork Centre for Architectural Education, IRELAND
Klaudia Szösz, DLA Budapest Metropolitan University, Hungary
Koenraad Van Cleempoel Hasselt University, Faculty of Architecture & Arts
Krzysztof Koszewski Faculty of Architecture, Warsaw University of Technology
Lorraine Farrelly University of Reading and SCOSA UK
Madeleine Maaskant Amsterdam Academy of Architecture, Amsterdam University of the Arts
Magdalena Kozień-Woźniak Cracow University of Technology, Faculty of Architecture
Manuel Blanco ETSAM ETS de Arquitectura, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
Marcel Musch Rotterdamse Academie van Bouwkunst
Marietta Masłowska-Paszek Poznan Univeristy of Technology
Martina Perinkova VSB – Technical University of Ostrava, Faculty of Civil Engineering
Massimo Santanicchia Iceland University of the Arts
Matthew Jones UWE Bristol
Medvegy Gabriella Prof Dr University of Pécs, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology
Meltem Gürel Yasar University
Nada Maticic Faculty of design , independent higher educational institutioneducatnstitution
Natalia Górska Poznan University of Technology
Nicolas Pham Western Switzerland University of Applied Sciences, HEPIA
Nina Bartosova Brno University of Technology – Faculty of Architecture
Oleksandr Kashchenko Kyiv National University of Construction and Architecture
Oya Atalay Franck ZHAW School of Architecture Design and Civil Engineering
Per-Johan Dahl Lund University School of Architecture
Peter Csizmadi, DLA Budapest Metropolitan University, Hungary
Phlippe Cieren Ecole Nationale d’architecture de Strasbourg
Pirjo Sanaksenaho Aalto University
Placido Lizancos Escola Técnica Superior de Arquitectura da Coruña
Pnina Avidar Master Architecture and Urbanism Fontys School of Arts
Rachel Troye The Oslo School of Architecture and Design
Radek Toman Brno University of Technology
Resmiye Alpar Atun Eastern Mediterranean University
Roberto Cavallo Faculty of Architecture & the Built Environment, TU Delft
Sally Stewart Mackintosh School of Architecture, The Glasgow School of Art
Samir Pandya University of Westminster
Serkan Yaşar ERDİNÇ Beykent University
Sille Pihlak Estonian Academy of Arts
Susana Lobo Department of Architecture, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Ugis Bratuskins Riga Technical University, Faculty of Architecture
Weischer, Martin Münster university of applied sciences MSA
Zuzana Pešková Czech Technical University in Prague, Faculty of Civil Engineering


April 20, 2023