EVENT by: EU Mies Award. Published: November 25, 2019.

2020 edition of YTAA

Check the 2020 YTAA winners here!

The Young Talent Architecture Award (YTAA) 2020 was launched on the occasion of « Perspectives: Young Architects’ Forum » organised by the Architects’ Council
of Europe in Barcelona.

To stimulate the competitiveness and quality of European architecture education, schools from three guest countries were invited to participate in 2020: Brazil, Chile and Mexico.

On November 23rd, the 2020 edition of YTAA has been presented on the occasion of « Perspectives: Young Architects’ Forum » organised by the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE) Barcelona as part of the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award (EU Mies Award).

YTAA is organised by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe with the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union, in collaboration with the European Association for Architectural Education (EAAE) and the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE-CAE); World Architects as founding partner; the European Cultural Centre as a partner in Venice; the sponsorship of Jung, Jansen and Regent; and the support of USM.

YTAA recognises the talent of recently graduated architects, urbanists and landscape architects, and facilitates their interaction with the sector’s main stakeholders in Europe, providing the opportunity to develop synergies and complementarities with the architecture offices and institutions of their choice.

YTAA is open for graduation projects presented by students between January 1st, 2018 and December 31st, 2019 by students from schools throughout Europe and, in order to promote global exchange, it also includes schools from a selected number of other countries. Following the successful participation of China and South Korea in 2018, for the YTAA 2020 edition the guest countries were Brazil, Chile and Mexico. In the first two editions (2016 and 2018), more than 545 projects were submitted from 138 Schools in 113 cities.

YTAA encourages exchange between Schools and seeks to improve
the skills of architects from the beginning of their professional careers while
also learning about the differences and similarities in the teaching of architecture worldwide. To analyse and discuss the projects designed by these recently graduated architects, the following jury has been invited:

Chairwoman: Martine de Maeseneer→ Vicedean international
affairs faculty of Architecture, KU Leuven, Brussels

Oleg Drozdov→ drozdov&partners and co-founder of the Kharkiv
School of Architecture, Kharkiv

Juliet Leach→ Head of Marketing, RIBA awards, London

Rosario Talevi→ Curator Making Futures Bauhaus+ and Associate Researcher Universität der Künste, Berlin

Bet Capdeferro→ bosch.capdeferro architecture, Girona
(Winner EU Mies Award for Emerging Architects 2011)

The jury shortlisted a group of works in order to illustrate different ways
of working, designing and communicating and selected 12 finalist projects among which it chose the four winners. The award has helped the Winners from the previous editions to set out their careers in consolidated architecture offices, set their own practices and share their knowledge in universities.


All nominated designs will be published online and in a catalogue;
they will also become part of the EU Mies Award Archive as a recognition to their authors and the Schools. The four Winners will be supported in the creation of a network with the architects and critics involved in the EU Mies Award (European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award) and the Future Architecture Platform. They will also receive 5.000€ each, a profile in World Architects and furniture from USM.


As in the previous editions, the YTAA results will be presented in
a traveling exhibition that will start its journey in Venice during
the Biennale Architettura 2020.

The 2018 exhibition has already been presented in Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Slovenia, Germany, Croatia and China and can now be visited at the:

Faculty of Architecture CTU
Prague, Czech Republic until the 30th November, 2019.

New Bulgarian University
Sofia, Bulgaria until the15th December, 2019.

University of Maribor, Faculty of Civil Engineering,
Transportation, Engineering and Architecture

Maribor, Slovenia until the 17th January, 2020.

YTAA 2020 Calendar


November 23→ Launch YTAA 2020


February 24→ Deadline for school’s submissions

April 27→ Deadline for student’s submissions

April→ Shortlist and Finalists announcement

August 29→ Exhibition Opening in Venice, in the context of
La Biennale di Venezia

September 22 → Awards ceremony in Venice, in the context of La Biennale di Venezia


More informationhttp://www.ytaaward.com/


Fundació Mies van der Rohe Press Agency:

Miriam Giordano / Labóh e-mail: press@miesbcn.com
Tel.: + 34 933 192 664/ +34 606 602 230

To know more about YTAA:





Social media:

@YTAAward (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram)

@FundacioMies (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn)

@CreativeEuropeEU (Facebook)

@europe_creative (Twitter)

#YTAAward2020 #YTAAward



More events:

EAAE partnership with DigiNEB.eu
EVENT by: EAAE — December 12, 2022
International VELUX Award for students of architecture 2024
EVENT by: VELUX — September 01, 2023
Daylight Talks 2024
EVENT by: — May 21, 2024
Call for candidates EAAE Council Elections 2024
GENERAL ASSEMBLY by: EAAE — July 12, 2024
EAAE General Meeting (part 2) , 30.08.2024, Münster
GENERAL ASSEMBLY by: EAAE — August 29, 2024
November 23, 2019


EU Mies Award