COMPETITION by: EAAE. Published: June 29, 2018.

Young Talent Architecture Award 2018 Winners!

YTAA 2018: the 4 Winners are

  • Hendrik Brinkmann, College of Architecture, Media and Design Berlin University of the Arts;
  • Julio Gotor Valcárcel, Madrid School of Architecture Polytechnic University of Madrid;
  • Matthew Gregorowski, The Cass Faculty of Art Architecture & Design London Metropolitan University;
  • Loed Stolte, Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment Delft University of Technology.

The Awards Ceremony will take place on September 20 at Palazzo Mora in Venice with a debate on Free Space, Education and Heritage in which the winners will participate together with emerging and well-known architects. The European Commission, the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, the Architects’ Council of Europe and the European Association for Architectural Education have announced today the winners of the Young Talent Architecture Award 2018 (YTAA 2018).

“It is extraordinary to discover that during the European Year of Cultural Heritage, the 4 YTAA Winners have worked with the theme of heritage.  Architectural education that includes heritage is essential for the future of Europe and the once heritage-contemporary dichotomy is becoming a powerful heritage-contemporary alliance.”  Themis Christophidou, Director General DG EAC.
“ACE is delighted with the first results of the new collaboration with YTAA. Supporting the talents of the next generation is one of the core interests of the profession, in order to keep and foster its role in the planning process and in society.” Georg Pendl, President, Architects’ Council of Europe.

“The critical debate of questions of heritage and its importance for the shape of today’s cities is the key to designing tomorrow’s built environment in a culturally, socially and ecologically sustainable way. These award-winning projects are excellent promises from a generation of young talented architects who take up the responsibility and show good architectural citizenry.”  Oya Atalay Franck, President, European Association for Architectural Education.

Read the full press release:


September 20, 2018


European Cultural Centre - Palazzo Mora
Strada Nova, 3659, 30121, Venice